Social Media Status

 Lately, I have frequently found myself at the receiving end of unnecessary hostility from my friends. My only, crime, is disagreement with their opinions on a social media. It seems, there is an unwritten rule, “Friends agree on Facebook”. And, if by mistake you somehow, make them look bad with your comments, you will be subjected to the utmost punishment, “Unfriend”. Unfriend-ing people, to some is a silent surrender in the war of words on Facebook. If you “lose” a discussion (which is always an argument) on Facebook, you have lost all your respect and credibility. That thread of discussion comments will be your identity and will be used against you in future conversations. On the flipside, the moment you start making more sense, in a discussion, either your comments or you should be deleted. The comments to be put in, should always be praising, appreciating and agreeing with the post.

 

The importance of social network and platform has risen more dramatically and drastically. Your intelligence is measured by the number of likes and comments on your posts. The quality and content may not matter, but the number of comments do. Surprisingly, my friend would not believe me when I would say that I have been to a certain place, unless I would make a “check-in” post on Facebook.
Such is the power of social media, that the world now is seen through Facebook, memories shared, expressions exchanged. It may be a convenient tool, but somewhere somehow, with the power of Facebook, we have become intolerant and hostile.

 


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment